Olympia working to select new advisory committee members


Olympia finished screening applicants for vacant slots in its advisory committees today.

Olympia’s Community Livability and Public Safety Committee, composed of Councilmember Dontae Payne, its chair; Mayor Cheryl Selby and Councilmember Yen Huynh, have been interviewing community members interested in serving as members of various committees since yesterday.

Committees with empty slots are the Art Commission; Design Review Board; Heritage Commission; Planning Commission; and Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee.

The Social Justice and Equity Commission, another advisory committee, has all its eleven positions empty but will have the seats filled by April, according to the city website.

City Advisory Committees are made up of members of the community who have expertise in their fields and are able to provide opinions, study issues, and provide recommendations as a focus group. They provide input to make policies but do not have the power to make or enforce them.

Committee members are given a stipend of $25 per meeting attended; with members who qualify as low-income instead given $50 per meeting appearance.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here